Cauberg Calling Cauberg Calling

Cauberg Calling

Alle Storys
Freitag, Januar 26, 2018

SRAM Supporting 30 Athletes at Cyclocross World Championships

There’ll be a crowd of SRAM athletes on the Cauberg soon. Two-time defending Elite Men’s Champ Wout van Aert headlines SRAM’s roster of 30 sponsored athletes competing on Feb. 3-4 in the UCI Cyclocross World Championships in the Dutch town of Valkenburg. These athletes come from Europe, Australia, and the United States.

The course sits atop the iconic Cauberg Climb, one of the highest points in the Netherlands. It’s well known by road cycling fans for its decisive role in the Amstel Gold, one of the famed Ardennes Classics. The Valkenburg cyclocross course, host to multiple World Cup races, features significant elevation changes, wooded sections, as well as fast open sections. This is the first time the cyclocross world championships have been in Valkenburg.

Elite Men

Wout van Aert         

Belgium’s Wout van Aert, who’s won the past two titles, defends his crown in the home nation of his chief rival. Van Aert’s battles with Dutchman Mathieu Van Der Poel have riveted fans in recent years. Stephen Hyde, coming to Worlds having just won his second straight U.S. title, looks to build on his solid showings in Europe.

Wout van Aert (BEL – Crelan-Charles)

Michael Boros (CZE - Pauwels Sauzen – Vastgoedservice)

Stan Godrie (NED – Crelan-Charles)

Stephen Hyde (USA – Cannondale p/b

Cody Kaiser (USA - LangeTwins/Specialized Bicycles/SRAM)

Jack Kisseberth (USA - JAM Fund/NCC)

Tim Merlier (BEL – Crelan-Charles)

Garry Millburn (AUS)

Tobin Ortenblad (USA - Santa Cruz/Donkey Label)

Jeremy Powers (USA – Aspire Racing)


Stephen Hyde

Elite Women

Pauline Ferrand-Prévot

Former World Champion Pauline Ferrand-Prévot of France proved she is back at top form with multiple podium results. Katie Keough, currently second in the UCI World Cup ranking, typically turns in top performances at Worlds and is a podium threat. Watch also for young American Ellen Noble, second at the U.S. National Championships, as well as Maud Kaptheijns, who scored multiple victories this season.

Nikki Brammeier (GBR – MUDIIITA // Canyon)

Pauline Ferrand-Prévot (FRA – CANYON//SRAM Racing)

Maud Kaptheijns (NED - Crelan-Charles)

Katie Keough (USA – Cannondale p/b

Christine Majerus (LUX – Boels Dolmans Cycling Team)

Ellen Noble (USA – Aspire Racing)

Loes Sels (BEL – Crelan-Charles)

Jolien Verschueren (BEL - Pauwels Sauzen – Vastgoedservice)


Ellen Noble (top) and Kaitie Keough

U23 Men

Johan Jacobs (CHE - Pauwels Sauzen – Vastgoedservice)

Yannick Peeters (BEL - Pauwels Sauzen – Vastgoedservice)

Spencer Petrov (USA - ASPIRE Racing; Mason, Ohio)

Jelle Schuermans (BEL - Pauwels Sauzen – Vastgoedservice)

Nick Smith (AUS)

Sieben Wouters (NED - Pauwels Sauzen – Vastgoedservice)


U23 Women

Emma Swartz (USA - Trek Cyclocross Collective)

Emma White (USA – Cannondale p/b


Junior Men

Tomas Kopecky (CZE - Pauwels Sauzen – Vastgoedservice)

Alex Matthews (AUS)

Alex Morton (USA - Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld)

Sam Noel (USA - Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld)


Schedule - local times (UTC+1)

Saturday, Feb. 3

- 11am: Men’s Junior

- 1pm: Women’s U23

- 3pm: Women’s Elite

Sunday, Feb. 4

- 11am: Men’s U23

- 3pm: Men’s Elite 

Live Web Coverage

Main photo and photos of van Aert,  Ferrand-Prévot, and Keough by Balint Hamvas Cyclephotos

Photos of Hyde and Noble by Wil Matthews



Alle Storys