SRAM’S Koppenbergcross SRAM’S Koppenbergcross

SRAM’S Koppenbergcross

Alle Storys
Montag, November 2, 2015

SRAM’s athletes won the Elite Men, Elite Women & U23 categories.

The Bpost Bank Trofee Koppenbergcross is as iconic as it is difficult, with the racers scaling the steep cobbled Koppenberg climb made famous as part of the annual Tour of Flanders route.

Throughout the race (one hour for the Elite men and 40 minutes for the Elite Women and U23) the riders and their machines are particularly challenged by the intensity and the difficulty of such a course.

This weekend SRAM-supported athletes were up to the challenge, winning the Elite Men, Elite Women & U23 categories.

After last year’s close victory over Sven Nys, Wout van Aert this year on the fifth lap caught and then rode away from the four-man breakaway.  It was the young Belgian’s eighth victory of the season.

In the Elite Women Category Jolien Verschueren (Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team) took the biggest win of her career. The Belgian rider, who finished second last year, crossed the finish line with almost a minute ahead of Femke can Den Driessche and teammate Nikki Harris (GBR).

In the U23 race, Quinten Hermans (Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team) was victorious with a long solo effort on his SRAM Force 1 drivetrain.

The Bpost Bank Trofee series consists of eight races. After Ronse, early October, and Kobenbergcross yesterday, the next stop will be Flandriencross in Hamme at the end of the month.



 All photos: Balint Hamvas, CyclePhotos


Alle Storys