{{ data.msg }}

Your browser does not support all of our website’s functionality. For an improved shopping experience, we recommend that you use the most recent versions of Google Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.


Record-Setting Rainbows

Dygert Owen and Bjerg Take ITT Titles
Image connexe

Powering her way to victory. ©Getty Images

Chloé Dygert Owen left no doubt who was the fastest on a tricky wet course in the Elite Women’s Individual Time Trial on Tuesday at the UCI Road World Championships in Yorkshire. The American, who rides for Sho-Air Twenty20, finished 1:33 ahead of fellow SRAM athlete Anna van der Breggen of the Netherlands (Boels-Dolmans Cycling Team).

Image connexe

Anna van der Breggen on her way to second place. © Getty Images

It was clear Dygert Owen was on a special ride when she passed former World Champion Lisa Brennauer early in the 32km test. By the end, she had passed eight of the riders ahead of her, and her margin of victory set a record for the World Championships ITT, eclipsing Fabian Cancellara’s previous mark of 1:27 set in 2009.

Image connexe

Dygert Owen collapses on the finish line © Jojo Harper

It’s been a long road back from injuries for the 2015 Junior Road and ITT World Champ, but a stage sweep of the Colorado Classic showed Dygert Owen was back on top form. With the help of mentorship from three-time Olympic gold medalist and SRAM athlete Kristin Armstong, she put together a perfect race to clinch her first Elite ITT title.

Image connexe

© Getty Images

Earlier in the day Denmark’s Mikkel Bjerg won his third straight U23 men’s time trial title in Harrogate on a course made treacherous with heavy rain and, in places, standing water. Bjerg, who rides for longtime SRAM partners Hagens Berman Axeon, rode SRAM RED eTap AXS 1x on his Pinarello TT bike. American teammate Ian Garrison was second at 26 seconds back, and Brandon McNulty of Rally completed the SRAM podium sweep only one second behind Garrison.