SRAM Athletes Excel at Superprestige Round 4 SRAM Athletes Excel at Superprestige Round 4

SRAM Athletes Excel at Superprestige Round 4

All Stories
Monday, November 16, 2015

All photos: © Balint Hamvas, Cyclephotos

SRAM athletes showed their mettle Sunday in Gavere with wins in the Elite Men’s race, a podium sweep of the U23 Men’s race for the Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team, as well as a sweep of places two through five in the Elite Women’s race.

In the fourth round of the Superprestige race series, Belgian Wout Van Aert of Vastoedservice-Golden Palace proved again that he is the man to beat. Van Aert powered his way to the Men’s Elite win at Gavere riding SRAM RED 22 and Zipp 303 Firecrest Tubular wheels.

Showing strength from the start, Van Aert chased down the first attack of the day initiated by Laurens Sweeck early in lap one. After falling behind slightly to Sven Nys and Lars Van der Haar in lap two, Van Aert closed the gap riding powerfully up the course’s longest climb on lap three. A technical mistake on lap four cost Van Aert time to Nys but Wout slowly clawed his way back to the leaders. By lap six Van Aert was ready to make his move and pulled away from the leaders on the portion of the course where he had already proved he was strongest, the long Grenier castle climb. Wout then held his lead for the final two laps to take the win.

SRAM is also proud to congratulate the U23 podium, all from the Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team: winner Eli Iserbyt, second place Quinten Hermans, and third Nicolas Cleppe. All three rode SRAM Force 1 drivetrains.

SRAM athletes on the Elite Women’s podium were Jolien Verschueren, Nikki Harris, and Ellen Van Loy (all three from Telenet-Fidea), and Christine Majerus (Boels-Dolmans). All rode SRAM Force 1 drivetrains. 

All Stories