Worlds Collide Worlds Collide

Worlds Collide

All Stories
Wednesday, October 5, 2016

SRAM sponsored athletes are among top contenders at this month’s historic UCI Road World Championships in Doha, Qatar. The event – held Oct. 9-16 – marks the first time cycling’s road world championships will be contested in the Middle East and only the second time (after 1990 in Japan) in Asia. 

This year’s relatively flat course also brings a golden opportunity for cycling’s top sprinters to win the rainbow jersey. Racing will commence amid the modern skyscrapers and arid landscape at this season’s crowning event as riders race for their home nation instead of their trade teams. SRAM is proud to support its sponsored riders with the world’s most advanced groupset, SRAM RED® eTap®

Women’s Events

Team Time Trial

Last year in Richmond, Va., the women’s team time trial turned into a showdown between CANYON//SRAM Racing and silver medalist Boels-Dolmans Cycling Team, with CANYON//SRAM taking its fourth straight title. Watch for a similar battle this year between these two powerhouse squads. TWENTY16 is another serious medal contender with its squad of strong time trialists.

Individual Time Trial

Contenders for the win include past champion Lisa Brennauer (Germany, CANYON//SRAM), as well as Trixi Worrack (Germany, CANYON//SRAM), Ellen Van Dijk (The Netherlands, Boels-Dolmans) and three time Olympic Gold Medalist, Kristin Armstrong (USA, TWENTY16). Also look for Chloe Dygert (USA, TWENTY16) to defend her World Champion title in the junior women’s TT.

Road Race

In the women’s road race, reigning champ, Lizzie Armitstead (Great Britain, Boels-Dolmans) and UCI Women’s WorldTour overall champion Megan Guarnier, bronze medalist in Richmond, are among the top favorites. Watch also for Hannah Barnes (Great Britain, CANYON-SRAM) and Allie Dragoo (USA, TWENTY16).

Men’s Events

Team Time Trial

Top WorldTour team AG2R LA MONDIALE is out to make a statement in the TTT with its six man roster including Gediminas Bagdonas (Lithuania), Alexis Gougeard (France), Ben Gastauer (Luxembourg), Patrick Gretsch (Germany), Hugo Houle (Canada), and Christophe Riblon (France).

Team KATUSHA will also compete for the coveted TTT title with its squad including Sven Erik Bystrøm (Norway), Alexander Kristoff (Norway), Viacheslav Kuznetsov (Russia), Michael Mørkøv (Russia), Nils Politt (Germany), and Anton Vorobyev (Russia).

Individual Time Trial

Watch ITT specialist Hugo Houle (Canada, AG2R) as he vies for a top finish. Also keep an eye on Gediminas Bagdonas (Lithuania, AG2R) and U23 time trialists Jon Dibben (Great Britain, Team Wiggins) and Neilson Powless (USA, Axeon).

Road Race

A powerful sprinter and proven Spring Classics star, Alexander Kristoff (Norway, Team Katusha) is a serious contender for the title. Marco Haller (Austria, Katusha), Michael Mørkøv (Russia, Katusha), and Sergey Lagutin (Russia, Katusha) are also expected to shake up the racing action.

In the U23 men’s category Gregory Daniel (USA, Axeon), Neilson Powless (USA, Axeon), Jason Lowndes (Australia, Drapac), Jon Dibben (Great Britain, Team Wiggins), Chris Latham (Great Britain, Team Wiggins), and Scott Davies (Great Britain, Team Wiggins) will each factor into the podium equation.


Team Time Trial – Elite Women: Sunday October 9, 2016 – 40km

Team Time Trial – Elite Men: Sunday October 9, 2016 – 40km

Junior Women – Individual Time Trial: Monday October 10, 2016 – 13.7km

U23 Men – Individual Time Trial: Monday October 10, 2016 – 28.9km

Junior Men – Individual Time Trial: Tuesday October 11, 2016 – 28.9km

Elite Women – Individual Time Trial: Tuesday October 11, 2016 – 28.9km

Elite Men – Individual Time Trial: Wednesday October 12, 2016 – 40km

U23 Men – Road Race: Thursday October 13, 2016 – 166km

Junior Women – Road Race: Friday October 14, 2016 – 74.5km

Junior Men – Road Race: Friday October 14, 2016 – 135.5km

Elite Women – Road Race: Saturday October 15, 2016 – 134.5km

Elite Women – Road Race: Sunday October 16, 2016 – 257.5km

Follow the action on SRAM’s Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram feeds.

Photo credits: photo #1 © VeloFocus - #2© Balint Hamvas, Cycle Photos - #3 &4 ©Tim de Waele

All Stories