Lakata and Dahle Crowned Marathon World Champions Lakata and Dahle Crowned Marathon World Champions

Lakata and Dahle Crowned Marathon World Champions

All Stories
Monday, June 29, 2015

Lakata takes SRAM RISE 60 wheels to their first ever World Championship title, along with XX1, Guide Ultimate and RS-1.

It took 87-plus kilometers and 4,700 meters of climbing, deep in the heart of the Dolomites, before a new mountain bike Marathon World Champion could be crowned. Showing clear authority and strength over the rest of the field, Alban Lakata of Austria and Gunn-Rita Dahle of Norway took home the gold medals and earned the right to wear rainbow World Champion jerseys. - Photo by Victor Lucas

 The men’s event took nearly 4.5 hours of racing and Lakata rode away with another Marathon World Championship title —  a second title for him and a first ever for the new SRAM RISE 60 wheels. Lakata’s machine was also equipped with a SRAM XX1 drivetrain, SRAM Guide Ultimate brakes and RockShox RS-1 front suspension, helping him maintain a substantial lead throughout the entire race. Following him in second place was former multi-time World Champion Christoph Sauser who was also on a SRAM XX1 drivetrain, SRAM XX brakes and RockShox SID front suspension. - Photo by Kuestenbrueck

 The women’s race was anything but anticlimactic covering 3,400 vertical meters in over 60 kilometers through the picturesque mountains of northern Italy. In the end, Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesja of Norway claimed her 6th Marathon World Championship title. Annika Langvad of Denmark remained in the hunt for a majority of the race, finishing just behind in 2nd. Both Gunn-Rita and Annika used SRAM XX1 drivetrains, SRAM Guide RSC & XX brakes with RockShox RS-1 front suspension. - Photo by Kuestenbrueck

 Men’s Results -

1st – Alban Lakata AUT (Topeak Ergon Racing Team): SRAM XX1SRAM RISE 60 WheelsSRAM Guide Ultimate brakesRockShox RS-1

2nd – Christoph Sauser SUI (Specialized Racing): SRAM XX1SRAM XX brakesRockShox SID WC

3rd – Leonardo Paez COL (Team Bianchi i.Idro DRAIN): SRAM XX1

Women’s Results -

1st – Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesja NOR (Multivan Merida Mountain Bike Team): SRAM XX1SRAM XX brakes, RockShox RS-1

2nd – Annika Langvad DEN (Specialized Racing): SRAM XX1SRAM Guide Ultimate brakesRockShox RS-1

3rd – Sabine Spitz GER (Sabine Spitz Racing): SRAM X0




All Stories